Religious Structure of Asha

There are eight main categories for the earthly hierarchy guiding the Ashavan:

1. The Teacher of Light
The Teacher of Light is responsible for bringing the Pure Teaching to the members of Asha. The Teacher of Light, in this age, is called Mir Eresh Zademir.

2 The High Priest & The Chief Prophet
The High Priest is responsible for making offerings in the atmospheric realm of the Domain of Light, while his brother the Chief Prophet (and scribe) sends forth prophetic messages from the Celestial Court of Divine Mandates.

3. The Council of Elders(senior clerics appointed by the Teacher of Light)
Along with having some teaching responsibilities and leadership roles, the Council of Elders assists in the organizational structure of the entire earthly assembly of the Divine Faith.

4. The Sword (Kharba, guardian, protector, defender) and the Banner (Nisha, standard, banner) of the Teacher of Light.
The Sword and the Banner of the Teacher of Light are two different roles in one category. The Sword protects and defends Asha from outer (worldly enemies) and inner (heretical) attacks. The Banner (standard, flag, signal), reminds adherents of the need to focus on the Three Divine Lamps to guide our faith.
Both the Sword and the Banner have the responsibility of protecting and upholding the purity of the Faith. The Sword and the Banner stand on equal ground. When they observe a problem taking place, they swiftly take action by reporting it to the Teacher of Light. They also provide suggestions which the Teacher of Light may request that one or both take action based on such suggestions.

5. The Heralds (Apostles of Asha)
The Heralds of Asha are apostles of the Faith. They serve a number of functions in Asha as: advisors, teachers, defenders of the faith and evangelists.

6. The Beacons of the Light (traveling teachers, missionaries, those establishing local temples and congregations)
The Beacons of Light are those who have received proper training in Asha and are called to go into the world, traveling as teachers in order to establish Nemana Asha (Local Asha Houses of Worship).

7. Monks and Nuns
Monastics: We encourage single brothers and sisters to take up the practice of “home monasticism” where an individual lives alone or two or more persons of one gender decide later, if feasible, to move in a home together to practice Asha and share expenses, as well as helping the poor in their area. At this time Asha does not encourage large monastic facilities and residences.

8. Local Faith Leaders (leading Nemana Asha or local Ashavan House of Worship or local congregation)
The Local Faith Leader is a man or woman elected locally to serve in a ministerial role for the Nemana Asha (Local House of Worship). They conduct worship services and present teachings and lessons to classes on a regular basis.

Other responsibilities
The doctors and historians: those who guard and promote the intellectual property/texts of Asha and have a proper understanding of the roots and organizational structure of Asha.

The scribes: those who translate and/or copy the sacred texts and other materials produced by the Temple.